Steam Loco Movements 2017
updated Mon 25-Sep-17


UKsteam.info front page
www.uksteam.info

Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


MAINLINE STEAM LOCO MOVEMENTS 2017


This is an unofficial list of booked steam locomotive light engine and ecs movements over Network Rail lines during 2017. The information is provided in good faith, but is NOT comprehensive and is not guaranteed accurate! Such movements quite often run at different times from those booked. Note that light engine and support coach moves on the same day as a related railtour will normally appear on railtour times page. No responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions.

Comments, updates, corrections (or criticism) are very welcome. Please send by email to: webmaster at uksteam.info. A very special thanks to all those who have contributed information - especially details of planned tours, train times, and updates on main line locomotives. Please keep sending it !

Note: Please do NOT contact train operators for further details on these loco movements. It causes unneccessary additional work for staff and is not welcome.

Note Some movements may not be shown until after the event, at the request of the operator.


|2016|Jan|Feb|Mar |Apr|May|Jun|Jul |Aug|Sep|Oct|Nov |Dec|2018|
|This week|
|Loco locations|

|Steam hauled tours|
|Abbreviations|


     Date      Route Notes
Week 01
Sat 07-Jan   [No movements this week]  
Week 02
Sat 14-Jan   [No movements this week]  
Week 03
Sat 21-Jan   [No movements this week]  
Week 04
Sat 28-Jan   [No movements this week]  
Week 05
Sat 04-Feb   [No movements this week]  
Week 06
Sat 11-Feb   [No movements this week]  
Week 07
Mon 13-Feb 60163: Stewarts Lane-Doncaster-Appleby [Times] E+C
Thu 16-Feb 60163: Appleby-Doncaster - E+C
Fri 17-Feb 60163: Doncaster-Stewarts Lane - E+C
Week 08
Sat 25-Feb    
Week 09
Tue 28-Feb 61264: Grosmont-York-Keighley [Times] E+C
Fri 03-Mar 45212+45407: Castleton-Carnforth [Times]
45212+45407: Carnforth-Blackburn-Carnforth
45212+45407: Carnforth-Keighley
[Light and Loaded test runs, ran with 45212 alone]
E+C
E+ECS+D
E+C
 
Week 10
Sun 12-Mar 46115: Carlisle-Carnforth [Times] updated (09/03) E+C
Week 11
Wed 15-Mar 45212: Castleton-Carnforth [Times] LE
Thu 16-Mar 62005 45212: Carnforth-York-Grosmont [Times] E+C
Thu 16-Mar 45407: Castleton-Southall [Times] E+C
Thu 16-Mar 46100: Southall-Didcot-Southall (provisional) [Times] E+C
Fri 17-Mar 61264: Keighley-Hellifield-York [Times] E+C
Fri 17-Mar 76084: Castleton-Carnforth-York [Times] E+C
Week 12
Mon 20-Mar 76084: York-Sheringham NNR [Times] [POSTPONED to 23-Mar] E+C
Mon 20-Mar 45699: Carnforth-Southall [Times] E+C
Tue 21-Mar 46100+45407: Southall-York [Times]
46100+45407+61264: York-Grosmont
2E+2C
Thu 23-Mar 76084: York-Sheringham NNR [Times] E+C
Tue 28-Mar 34046: Southall-Swanage [Times] E+C
Wed 29-Mar 60103: York-Keighley [Times] E+C
Thu 30-Mar 60163: Stewarts Lane-Shalford-Stewarts Lane [Times]
[Test run]
E+C
Week 14
Mon 03-Apr 45699 Southall-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Mon 03-Apr 45231 Carnforth Hellifield-Carnforth-Crewe [Times]
[Test run]
E+C
Tue 04-Apr 46100: Grosmont-York-Southall [Times] E+C
Tue 04-Apr 34046: Swanage-Southall [Times] E+C
Thu 06-Apr 46233 Southall-Carnforth [Times]
[Terminated Crewe Heritagcge Centre]
E+C
Thu 06-Apr 60163 Wembley-Shalford-Wembley [Times]
[Loaded test run}
E+C
Sat 08-Apr 60163: Stewarts Lane-Doncaster [Times} E+C
Sun 09-Apr 34046: Swanage-Southall [Times} E+C
Sun 09-Apr 45212+45407: Grosmont-Carlisle [Times] 2E+C
Week 15
Mon 10-Apr 45212+45407: Carlisle-Fort William [Times} 2E+ECS
Tue 11-Apr 60103: Keighley-Southall-E Grinstead [Times] E+C
Tue 11-Apr 60163: Doncaster-TYne Yard-Doncaster [Times]
[Test run]
E+ECS
Week 16
Mon 17-Apr 60163: Doncaster-Orton Mere [Times] E+C
Mon 17-Apr 62005: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Thu 20-Apr 60103: East Grinstead-York [Times] E+C
Fri 21-Apr 46100: Bishops Lydeard-Southall [Times] E+C
Sun 23-Apr 60103: Tallington Jn-York [Times]
[Special 4-a-breast run past]
E+ECS
Week 17
Wed 26-Apr 60009: Castleton-Carnforth [Times]
[Light test run]
E+C
Wed 26-Apr 60009: Carnforth-Blackburn-Crnforth [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS
Thu 27-Apr 60103: York-Southall [Times] E+C
Fri 28-Apr 60163: Orton Mere-Doncaster - E+C
Fri 28-Apr 60009: Carnforth -York [Times] E+C
Sat 29-Apr 45212: Fort William-Bo'ness [Times] E+C
Week 18
Wed 03-May 46233: Crewe-Carlisle [Times] E+C
Wed 03-May 45212: Dumbarton-Fort William [Times] E+C
Thu 04-May 9600: Tyseley-Stratford-Tyseley [Times] E+C
Fri 05-May 34046+46100: Southall-Bristol [Times] 2E+2C
Week 19
Sat 13-May    
Week 20
Thu 18-May 35028: Crewe-Chester-Crewe (twice) [Times] [Light test run] E+C+D
Thu 18-May 35018: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times] [Light test run] E+C
Week 21
Wed 24-May 35018+45690: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times]
[Light test run]
2E+C
Thu 25-May 46100: Southall Orton Mere [Times]
[Revised date]
E+C
Week 22
Wed 31-May 48151 45699: Carnforth-York [Times] E+C
Thu 01-Jun 34046: Southall-Ropley [Times] E+C
Fri 02-Jun 46233: Crewe-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 23
Mon 05-Jun 46233: Southall-Nuneaton-Tyseley [Tmes] E+C
Thu 08-Jun 46100: Orton Mere-Southall [Times] E+C
Sat 10-Jun 60163: Bodmin-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Week 24
Wed 14-Jun 60103: Carnforth-York [Times] E+C
Fri 16-Jun 60009: York-Scarborough-York [Times] E+C
Sat 17-Jun 60009: York-Stewarts Lane [Times]
[Diesel haulage from Connington loop following brake issues and lineside fires]
E+C
Sat 17-Jun 60163: Stewarts Lane-St Philips Marsh [Times] E+C
Week 25
Wed 21-Jun 60009: Stewarts Lane-Dereham - D+E+C
Thu 22-Jun 35018: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Sun 25-Jun 46100: Bishops Lydeard-Swindon-Southall - [CANCELLED] E+C
Week 26
Wed 28-Jun 35028: Crewe-Chester-Oxley-Stafford-Crewe-Chester [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS+D
Thu 29-Jun TBA: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Preston-Carnforth - [CANCELLED] TBA
Thu 29-Jun 35028: Crewe-Tyseley-Didcot [Times] E+C
Fri 30-Jun 35028: Didcot-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Sat 01-Jul 46100: Southall-Bristol [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Week 27
Tue 04-Jul 60009: Dereham-Southall [Times] E+C
Wed 05-Jul 34046: Ropley-Southall [Times] E+C
Thu 06-Jul 35018: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Carnforth [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+C
Week 28
Sat 15-Jul    
Week 29
Fri 21-Jul 46233: Butterley-Crewe [Times] E+C
Sat 22-Jul 46100: Southall-Bristol-Bishops Lydeard [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Sat 22-Jul 45690/TBA: Carnforth-Crewe [Times] E+C
Week 30
Sat 29-Jul 46100: Southall-Bristol-Bishops Lydeard [Times] E+C
Week 31
Sat 05-Aug 45407: Fort William-Bo'ness [Times] E+C
Sun 06-Aug 60163: Bristol-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Week 32
Mon 07-Aug 45407: Dumbarton-Fort William [Times] E+C
Sat 12-Aug 44871: Castleton-Carnforth-Bo'ness [Times] [CANCELLED]
[44871 move cancelled. Loco unavailable]
E+C
Sat 05-Aug 45407: Fort William-Bo'ness [Times] E+C
Sun 13-Aug 46233: Southall-Butterley - E+C
Week 33
Tue 15-Aug 35028: Stewarts Lane-Bristol [Times] E+C
Thu 17-Aug 44871: Castleton-Carnforth-Boness [Times]
E+C
Thu 17-Aug 35018: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Carnforth [Times]
[Loaded test run, ran approx 3 hours late]]
E+ECS
Week 34
Thu 24-Aug 60103: York-Southall-Didcot [Times]
E+C
Sun 27-Aug 60009: Southall-Didcot [Times]
D+E+C
Mon 28-Aug 44871: Dumbarton-Fort William [Times]
E+C
Wed 30-Aug 45212: Fort William-Carlisle [Times]
E+C
Wed 30-Aug 60103: Didcot-Bishops Lydeard [Times]
E+C
Thu 31-Aug 45212: Carlisle-Grosmont [Times]
E+C
Thu 31-Aug 70013: Tyseley-Didcot [Times]
E+C
Thu 31-Aug 70013+6023: Didcot-Old Oak Common [Times]
2E+C+D
Sat 02-Sep 34046: Southall-Bishops Lydeard [CANCELLED] E+C
Sat 02-Sep 70013+6023: Old Oak Common-Southall-Didcot [Times] D+2E+C
Sun 03-Sep 60009: Didcot-Southall [Times] D+E+C
Week 36
Tue 05-Sep 60163: Old Oak Common-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Wed 06-Sep 45690: York-Carnforth - E+C
Fri 08-Sep 60009: Southall-Norwich [Times] D+E+ECS
Week 37
Mon 11-Sep 60163: Bristol-Bescot [Times] E+C
Wed 13-Sep 60103+46100: Bishops Lydeard-Southall [Times]
2E+2C
Fri 15-Sep 60103: York-Shildon [Times] E+C
Fri 15-Sep 45699: York-Carnforth [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Line closed due to flooding]
E+C
Sat 16-Sep 46233: Butterley-York [Times] E+C
Week 38
Tue 19-Sep 60103: Shildon-Barrow Hill [Times] E+C
Tue 19-Sep 60163: Bescot-Barrow Hill [Times] X E+C
Wed 20-Sep 60009: Orton Mere-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 39
Sat 30-Sep    
Week 40
Sat 07-Oct    
Week 41
Fri 13-Oct 46100: Southall-Bishops Lydeard (provisional) - updated (19/09) E+C
Sat 14-Oct    
Week 42
Sat 21-Oct    
Week 43
Sat 28-Oct    
Week 44
Sat 04-Nov    
Week 45
Week 46
Week 47
Week 48
Week 49
Week 50
Week 51
Week 52
Week 53



[Movements in 2018]

[Return to top of page]



Locations of currently operational main line locos as at 02:00 Sun 17-Sep


Site          Locos
Southall (LS) 34046, 46100
Southall (WCRC) 46233, 70013, 73096
Stewarts Lane 35028
Didcot GWS srm93
Paignton & Dartmouth Rly 7752
North Norfolk Rly 76084
Tyseley 4965, 5043, 9466, 9600, 4936, 71000
Crewe 5029, 45231, 60019, 70000
Butterley 46201
Barrow Hill 60103, 60163
Carnforth 35018, 45690, 48151, 34016, 34067, 46115, 44932, 61306
York NRM 45699, 60009 60007
Dumbarton 44871
Fort William 44871, 45407, 62005
Elsewhere 45305,


[Return to top of page]
Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this information,
no responsibility can be taken for any errors or omissions.

Comments by email to:webmaster at uksteam.info