Steam Loco Movements 2009
updated Sat 02-Jan-10


UKsteam.info front page
www.uksteam.info

Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


MAINLINE STEAM LOCO MOVEMENTS 2009


This is an unofficial list of booked steam locomotive light engine and ecs movements over Network Rail lines during 2009. The information is provided in good faith, but is NOT comprehensive and is not guaranteed accurate! Such movements quite often run at different times from those booked. Note that light engine and support coach moves on the same day as a related railtour will normally appear on railtour times page. No responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions.

Comments, updates, corrections (or criticism) are very welcome. Please send by email to: webmaster at uksteam.info or by Fax to 08701-640942. A very special thanks to all those who have contributed information - especially details of planned tours, train times, and updates on main line locomotives. Please keep sending it !

Note: The movements of some locomotives may not be disclosed until after the event at the request of the loco owners.
Note: Please do NOT contact train operators for further details on these loco movements. It causes unneccessary additional work for staff and is not welcome.


|2008|Jan|Feb|Mar |Apr|May|Jun|Jul |Aug|Sep|Oct|Nov |Dec|2010|
|This week|


-
     Date      Route Notes
Week 01
Sat 03-Jan                                      
Week 02
Sat 10-Jan    
Week 03
Sat 17-Jan    
Week 04
Wed 21-Jan 46115: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth o                     E+ECS
Week 05
Wed 28-Jan 60163: York-Leeds-York o E+C
Week 06
Thu 05-Feb 46115: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth
[Revised date]
E+ECS
Week 07
Sat 14-Feb    
Week 08
Mon 16-Feb 60163: Hither Green-York o E+C
Week 09
Fri 27-Feb 70013: Keighley-Barnetby o E+C
Fri 27-Feb 60007: Grosmont-York o E+C
Week 10
Mon 02-Mar 70013: Southall-Kidderminster o E+C
Wed 04-Mar 5029: Tyseley-Kidderminster o E+C
Thu 05-Mar 34067: Southall-Carnforth o E+ECS
Week 11
Mon 09-Mar 70013: Kidderminster-Southall o E+C
Mon 09-Mar 45407: Castleton-Toton o [POSTPONED to 16-Mar] E+C
Fri 13-Mar 45407: Toton-Castleton o [POSTPONED to 20-Mar] E+C
Week 12
Mon 16-Mar 5029: Kidderminster-Tyseley o E+C
Mon 16-Mar 60007: Doncaster-Grosmont o E+C
Mon 16-Mar 45407: Castleton-Toton o E+C
Mon 16-Mar 4936: Tyseley-Bishops Lydeard o E+C
Tue 17-Mar 60019: Alton-Bishops Lydeard o E+C
Fri 20-Mar 45407: Toton-Castleton o E+C
Fri 20-Mar 46115: Carnforth-Ely o
[Added retrospectively]
E+ECS
Sun 22-Mar 46115: Ely-Carnforth o
[Added retrospectively]
E+ECS
Week 13
Tue 24-Mar 60163: York-Sheffield-Barrow Hill o E+C
Fri 27-Mar 46233: Butterley-Carnforth o E+C
Week 14
Mon 30-Mar 60019: Bishops Lydeard-Alton o [POSTPONED to 31-Mar] E+C
Mon 30-Mar 46233: Crewe-Butterley o E+C
Mon 30-Mar 60007: Grosmont-York o [CANCELLED] E+C
Mon 30-Mar 60009: Thornton-York o E+C
Mon 30-Mar 5043: Didcot-Tyseley LE
Tue 31-Mar 60019: Bishops Lydeard-Alton o
[Postponed from Mon 30-Mar]
E+C
Tue 31-Mar 60007+60009: York-Barrow Hill o 2E+C
Wed 01-Apr 4936+45231: Bishops Lydeard-Tyseley o [CANCELLED]
45231: Tyseley-Bury
[Cancelled due to signalling problems at Taunton]
2E+C
Thu 02-Apr 62005: Carnforth-Barrow Hill o E+C
Thu 02-Apr 60007: Grosmont-Barrow Hill o E+C
Fri 03-Apr 34067: Carnforth-Southall o E+ECS
Sat 04-Apr 61994: Thornton-Boness o E+C
Sat 04-Apr 5029: Tyseley-Bishops Lydeard Westbury o E+C
Sat 04-Apr 70013: Southall-Bishops Lydeard Westbury o E+C
Week 15
Mon 06-Apr 5029+70013: St Blazey-Penzance o [CANCELLED] E+C
Mon 06-Apr 60007+60009: Barrow Hill-York o 2E+2C
Mon 06-Apr 62005: Barrow Hill-Tyseley o E+C
Tue 07-Apr 46201: Crewe-Bristol Barton Hill o [CANCELLED] E+C
Tue 07-Apr 34067: Bristol Barton Hill-Southall o [CANCELLED] E+C
Tue 07-Apr 60007: York-Grosmont o E+C
Tue 07-Apr 60009: York-Thornton o E+C
Wed 08-Apr 5029: Soke Gifford-Tyseley o [CANCELLED] E+C
Wed 08-Apr 70013: Stoke Gifford-Southall o E+C
Thu 09-Apr 45231+45407: Bury-Glasgow o 2E+2C
Thu 09-Apr 61994: Thornton-Inverness o E+C
Sun 12-Apr 45231+60009: Thornton-Edinburgh o 2E+2C
Sun 12-Apr 61994: Inverness-Thornton o E+C
Week 16
Mon 13-Apr 45231+45407: Edinburgh-Bury o 2E+2C
Tue 14-Apr 62005: Tyseley-Carnforth o [CANCELLED] E+C
Wed 15-Apr 76079: Bury-Grosmont o E+C
Thu 16-Apr 60163: Barrow Hill-Stewarts Lane o E+C
Fri 17-Apr 46233: Butterley-Crewe o E+C
Week 17
Mon 20-Apr 60163: Hornsey-Stewarts Lane E+C
Tue 21-Apr 45407: Bury-Grosmont o E+C
Wed 22-Apr 4936: Bishops Lydeard-Tyseley o LE
Thu 23-Apr 62005: Tyseley-Carnforth o E+C
Sun 26-Apr 60163: Millerhill-Tyne Yard o E+C
Week 18
Mon 27-Apr 60163: Tyne Yard-Grosmont o E+C
Thu 30-Apr 34067: Carnforth-Southall o E+C
Fri 01-May 45407: Grosmont-Bury o E+C
Sun 03-May 34067: Swanage-Eastleigh-Swanage o E+C
Week 19
Mon 04-May 45407: Bury-Grosmont o E+C
Fri 08-May 46201: Crewe-Doncaster o E+C
Sun 10-May 70013: Liverpool Rd Barrow Hill-Dereham MNR o E+C
Week 20
Tue 12-May 5029: Churston-Tyseley o [CANCELLED] E+C
Wed 13-May 45231: Bury-Carnforth o E+C
Thu 14-May 5029: Churston-Tyseley o E+C
Thu 14-May 45231+62005: Carnforth-Fort William o 2E+ECS
Thu 14-May 60163: Grosmont-Hornsey o D+E+C
Fri 15-May 60019: Alton MHR-Hornsey [CANCELLED] E+C
Fri 15-May 60007+60163: Grosmont NYMR-York NRM o 2E+2C
E+C
Fri 15-May 70013: Dereham-Norwich o E+C
Fri 15-May 46229: Tyseley LW-York NRM o [POSTPONED]
[Non-certified loco behind a diesel]
D+E ?
Sat 16-May 45690: Carnforth-Hellifield o E+C
Week 21
Mon 18-May 46229: Tyseley LW-York NRM o D+E+?
Tue 19-May 60007: Dundee-York NRM o E+C
Tue 19-May 60019: York NRM-Alton MHR [CANCELLED] E+C
Thu 21-May 30850+35005+41312: Alton-Eastleigh o
[Non-certified locos behind a diesel]
D+3E+?
Fri 22-May 30073+34028+34070: Swanage-Eastleigh o
[Non-certified locos behind a diesel]
D+3E+?
Week 22
Mon 25-May 60007: London-Didcot GWS E+C
Mon 25-May 35028: Eastleigh-Stewarts Lane o E+C
Tue 26-May 30073+34028+34070: Eastleigh-Swanage o
[Non-certified locos behind a diesel]
D+3E+?
Wed 27-May 30850+35005+41312: Eastleigh-Alton o
[Non-certified locos behind a diesel]
D+3E+?
Fri 29-May 70013: Swanage-Eastleigh o E+C
Fri 29-May 60163: York NRM-Bescot o E+C
Week 23
Sat 06-Jun    
Week 24
Mon 08-Jun 60007: Southall-Grosmont o E+C
Fri 12-Jun 70013: Eastleigh-Bristol Barton Hill o E+C
Sun 14-Jun 70013: Bristol Barton Hill-Bishops Lydeard o E+C
Sun 14-Jun 62005: Fort William-Carnforth o E+C
Week 25
Fri 19-Jun 62005: Carnforth-Fort William E+C
Fri 19-Jun 5043: Tyseley LW-Crewe HC o E+C
Sun 21-Jun 5043: Crewe HC-Tyseley LW o [CANCELLED] E+C
Week 26
Mon 22-Jun 60163: Acton Yard-Tyseley LW o E+C
Tue 23-Jun 46115: Carnforth-Scarborough-Carnforth o E+C
Fri 26-Jun 45690: Carnforth-Keighley o E+ECS
Sat 27-Jun 70013: Bishops Lydeard-Bristol Barton Hill o E+C
Week 27
Mon 29-Jun 70013: Bristol Barton Hill-Southall o E+C
Tue 30-Jun 46233: Butterley-Tyseley-Reading-Ilford EMUD o ?
Fri 03-Jul 46233: Ilford EMUD-Reading-Tyseley-Butterley o ?
Fri 03-Jul 60019: Alton-Southall o E+C
Fri 03-Jul 60009: Thornton-Perth o E+C
Sat 04-Jul 60163: Tyseley-Bristol o E+C
Week 28
Sat 11-Jul    
Week 29
Thu 16-Jul 5972: Carnforth-Southall o E+C
Fri 17-Jul 46233: Butterley-Crewe o E+C
Week 30
Mon 20-Jul 45407+76079: Grosmont-York o
76079: York-Bury
E+C
Mon 20-Jul 5972: Tyseley LW-York NRM o E+C
Tue 21-Jul 34070: Eastleigh-Swanage o
[Uncertified loco behind a diesel]
D+E
Fri 24-Jul 76079: Bury-Crewe-Machynlleth o
E+ECS
Fri 24-Jul 70013: Southall-Bristol o
E+C
Sun 26-Jul 70013: Bristol-Southall o
E+C
Week 31
Fri 31-Jul 45407: York-Bury o E+C
Fri 31-Jul 45690+46115: Carnforth-York 2E+2C
Fri 31-Jul 5043: Tyseley-Marylebone o E+D+ECS
Sun 02-Aug 4936: Tyseley-Kidderminster E+C
Week 32
Mon 03-Aug 45231: Fort William-Carnforth E+C
Mon 03-Aug 46115: York-Carnforth E+C
Fri 07-Aug 45407: Castleton-Fort William o
[Revised date]
E+C
Sun 09-Aug 6024: Bishops Lydeard-Bristol Barton Hill o E+C
Week 33
Mon 10-Aug 6024: Bristol-Shrewsbury-Bristol o E+ECS
Mon 10-Aug 60163: Bristol-Hither Green E+C
Mon 10-Aug 45690: York-Carnforth E+C
Mon 10-Aug 45231: Carnforth-York E+C
Sun 16-Aug 60163: Grove Park-Didcot o D+E+ECS
Week 34
Sat 22-Aug 60009: Thornton-Boness o E+C
Sat 22-Aug 70013: Southall-Kings Cross (tbc) o E+ECS
Week 35
Mon 24-Aug 60009: Thornton-Crewe o E+C
Mon 24-Aug 46233: Crewe-Butterley o E+C
Mon 24-Aug 45231: York-Carnforth o E+C
Mon 24-Aug 70013: Hornsey-Bletchley-Corby-Barrow Hill-York o E+C
Thu 27-Aug 4953: Tyseley-Stratford-Tyseley
LE
Sat 29-Aug 76079: Machynlleth-Bury o
E+D+ECS
Sun 30-Aug 76079: Bury-Grosmont o
LE
Week 36
Thu 03-Sep 60163: Didcot-Parkeston Quay o
D+E+ECS
Sat 05-Sep 34067: Southall-Grove Park
E+ECS
Sun 06-Sep 46115: Preston-Carnforth
E+ECS
Week 37
Mon 07-Sep 5972: York-Carnforth
E+C
Mon 07-Sep 34067: Grove Park-Southall
E+ECS
Tue 08-Sep 34046: Bishops Lydeard-Alton [CANCELLED]
[Non-certified loco behind a diesel]
D+E
Fri 11-Sep 60009: Crewe-Hellifield [CANCELLED]
E+C
Sun 13-Sep 70013: Neville Hill-York NRM
E+C
Week 38
Tue 15-Sep 34046: Alton-Bishops Lydeard o [CANCELLED]
[Non-certified loco behind a diesel]
D+E
Wed 16-Sep 5972: Carnforth-Fort William o
E+ECS+D
Fri 18-Sep 46233: Butterley-York o
E+C
Fri 18-Sep 60007: Grosmont-York o
E+C
Fri 18-Sep 70013: York-Barnetby o
E+C
Sun 20-Sep 60007: Heaton CS-Grosmont o
E+C
Week 39
Tue 22-Sep 5972: Fort William-Carnforth
E+D+ECS
Fri 25-Sep 61994: Thornton TC-Cadder o
E+C
Week 40
Mon 28-Sep 4953+5029: Tyseley-Bishops Lydeard WSR o
2E+C
Mon 28-Sep 6024: Bristol-Minehead WSR o
E+ECS
Wed 30-Sep 60163: Hither Green-York o
E+C
Thu 01-Oct 70013: Shildon-Grosmont NYMR o
E+C
Fri 02-Oct 61994: Thornton-Bury
E+C
Fri 02-Oct 34067: Southall-Bristol o
E+C
Sun 04-Oct 34067: Bristol-Southall o
E+C
Week 41
Tue 06-Oct 4953+5029: Bishops Lydeard WSR-Tyseley o [CANCELLED]
2E+C
Thu 08-Oct 4965: Tyseley-Stratford-Tyseley (twice)
[Light and loaded test runs]
LE, E+ECS
Fri 09-Oct 35028: Stewarts lane-Ropley
E+C
Sun 11-Oct 60163: Crewe-Barrow Hill o
E+C
Week 42
Mon 12-Oct 45407+62005: Fort William-Carnforth o
2E+ECS
Mon 12-Oct 46233: Crewe-Butterley
E+C
Tue 13-Oct 4936: Kidderminster-Tyseley
E+C
Fri 16-Oct 35028: Ropley-Stewarts Lane o
E+C
Fri 16-Oct 46233: Butterley-Derby o
E+C
Week 43
Mon 19-Oct 6024: Bishops Lydeard WSR-Kidderminster SVR o
E+C
Tue 20-Oct 4953+5029: Bishops Lydeard WSR-Tyseley o
2E+C
Thu 22-Oct 60163: Barrow Hill-Kidderminster SVR o [POSTPONEDto 23-Oct]
E+C
Fri 23-Oct 60163: Barrow Hill-Kidderminster SVR o
E+C
Sun 25-Oct 46115: York-Carnforth o
E+C
Week 44
Sat 31-Oct    
Week 45
Sat 07-Nov    
Week 46
Sat 14-Nov    
Week 47
Sat 21-Nov    
Week 48
Wed 25-Nov 60019: Alton-Southall o
E+C
Thu 26-Nov 60007: Grosmont NYMR-Newcastle Heaton CS o
[Revised date]
E+C
Fri 27-Nov 34067: Eastleigh-Swanage o
D+ECS+E ?
Week 49
Mon 30-Nov 34067: Swanage-Southall o
D+ECS+E ?
Mon 30-Nov 6024: Newport East Usk Yd-Bristol Barton Hill [CANCELLED]
E+C
Tue 01-Dec 6024: Kidderminster SVR-Newport-Bristol o
E+C
Sat 05-Dec 60007: Southall-Ferme Park o
E+C
Week 50
Mon 07-Dec 60007: Ferme Park-Southall o
E+C
Sat 12-Dec 46201: Crewe-Preston o
E+C
Week 51
Mon 14-Dec 60007: Hornsey-Southall o
E+C
Sat 19-Dec    
Week 52
Mon 21-Dec 60019: Southall-Alton o
E+C
Mon 21-Dec 44871: Castleton-Carnforth o
E+C
Tue 22-Dec 44871: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Preston-Carnforth
Carnforth-Shap-Carlisle and return o
[CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to weather conditions]
E+ECS
Tue 22-Dec 60163: Battersea-Hither Green-York o
E+C
Wed 23-Dec 44871: Carnforth-Euxton Jc-Carnforth
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS
Week 53
Sat 02-Jan    


[Return to top of page]
Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this information,
no responsibility can be taken for any errors or omissions.

Comments by email to: webmaster at uksteam.info